PDA

View Full Version : How Much Neanderthal Is Too Much?

Jared McMahon
12-04-2009, 12:22 AM
As very brief background, I'm a beginning woodworker doing work in my garage, which has very limited power. After a while of back and forth with my home owners association about improving my garage, I figured bah, fooey on this, I'll just go pure hand tools. And this is what I've begun to do, and I've had limited yet encouraging results so far.

However, I've started to come across tasks that, to abuse a quote, are "a lot like working." Some things I try come out beautifully, some things just create a rough crooked line and a lot of sweat. Some of this is definitely lack of practice, good technique, well-maintained tools, and the right tool for the right job, all of which I'm actively working on. But I wanted to ask where y'all draw the line in terms of neander'ing. How many people actually work entirely unplugged? And what tasks make you say "Oh god no, I'd never do that with just hand tools!" ?

Michael Faurot
12-04-2009, 1:15 AM
For me, it depends on the size/scale of the project. The smaller it is, then the majority (or all) of it will be done with hand tools. For larger projects, I will use my powered planer to dimension rough lumber and a table saw for ripping, and then switch over to hand tools.

So lately, I do a lot of smaller projects. ;)

Mike Henderson
12-04-2009, 1:29 AM
IMO, the grunt work of hand tools is stock preparation. If you're doing a large project, it will take a lot of time and sweat to get your stock prepared for the project.

So I use power tools for stock preparation. I'll even take my wood to another shop to do the preparation since I don't have a jointer and only have a 13" planer in my shop. Then, I'll rip the wood on my table saw.

Once I have all the stock prepared, I'll generally do most of the joinery with hand tools. It's mostly precise work and not sweat, and it's enjoyable.

Mike

Don Morris
12-04-2009, 1:33 AM
Jared,