PDA

View Full Version : CONFUSED Epilog Owner

George McGinnis
12-02-2009, 9:19 PM
Is anyone here running an Epilog Radius using a newer computer system? I want to upgrade to a newer XP or Vista system to run my engraver, but I'm really confused. I was told my engraver would not fuction properly and would have alot of problems with laser quality if I did upgrade. Epilog does have drivers still available on there web site for the radius. Ver 4.3 for win98 which is still better than my ver.2.0 that I am running with win98. They also have a newer version for XP and vista. I tried calling Epilog tech support and really did not get any answers to the question. NOT A VERY GOOD EXERIENCE. I am still very new to the laser and would like to get into photo engraving but can't afford to buy photograv if I can get the same results with a newer version of epliog drivers.
Sorry this is so long of a post
George

Bob Davis
12-02-2009, 11:20 PM
I ran a radius on Widows 98 for 8+ years - excellent machine. I also played around with changing over to XP, but ended up going back to W98. I think the main problem with the beta XP driver was that it had a slightly changed engravable area and couldn't engrave right to the edge of the page (or something like that) so I didn't pursue it further.
The W98 driver was bulletproof, intuitive and gave predictable (well, most of the time) results. We still run an old engraver on W98 without problem.
I have no experience with photograv, but I think you'll obtain good results using "The Gold Method" with Photoshop.
I think it's a bit unreasonable to expect Epilog to support a machine that has been out of production for around 8 years.

Tom Bull
12-03-2009, 2:18 AM