PDA

View Full Version : Veritas 20 tpi Dovetail Saw review

Derek Cohen
12-01-2009, 10:04 AM
http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a262/Derek50/saws/Veritas%2020%20tpi%20dovetail%20saw/Dovetailsaw.jpg

Below is a link to a recently completed review on the Veritas 20 tpi dovetail saw. Comparison was made with the 14 tpi Veritas.

onlinetoolreviews.com/reviews/veritas20tpisaw.htm

Hoping it is interesting and generates some discussion ...

Regards from Perth

Derek

Will Boulware
12-01-2009, 11:18 AM
I recently ordered one of these along with the accompanying crosscut variation. I'm new to this hobby, but as a first saw, I'm amazed by how well it balances and how little effort it takes to cut straight lines. Definitely an A+ in my book. :D

Dave Anderson NH
12-01-2009, 1:43 PM
Very nice review Derek. I particularly like the emphasis you placed on how different sawing techniques effect the results and more importantly, a person's perception of how well a saw performs. This is really important information for those just starting out and looking to buy a new saw. In fact, it should be a major caveat added to every single thread on "Which dovetail saw should I buy?" As always, you have done our community a great service with the clarity of your analysis.

David Gendron
12-01-2009, 1:56 PM
Great review Derek. So why should we buy more expensive saws other than for a specific look?? I have a few DT saw my self and so far the Gramercy is my go to saw!! Is it worth the price? Is it That much better? Of cours there is the Custom made feature! And the "Unique" aspect of a Lunn Saw or Bad Axe one just to name these!
Great to have a choice!

John Keeton
12-01-2009, 2:13 PM
Excellent review! But, then, one would expect nothing less from Derek.

I agree with Dave. The practical aspects of your in depth analysis of the saw in actual use make this a "must read" for one buying a dovetail saw - of any make.

Jim Koepke
12-01-2009, 2:26 PM