PDA

View Full Version : sketch up

Paul Mathers
11-30-2009, 5:33 PM
I was wondering if google skeychup is any good for basic projects I have never used any kind of drawing program before thought it might help in figureing material and dimensions. Thanks for any advice

Steve Sawyer
11-30-2009, 6:14 PM
I never do anything - even the simplest of projects - without doing a sketchup drawing first. just last night I drew three identical shelves that will be screwed into a corner of the family room to hold the new flat-panel TV and components we just got. Took longer to draw the TV than the shelves, but I'm now certain that I have the dimensions and shape right to accommodate the TV.

jim hedgpeth
12-01-2009, 3:38 PM
I still find it kind of slow for really detailed work, but with practice I am getting faster.

It does come in handy for checking layout, and overall looks of a piece. Also works well to design pieces that have other thing going in/on them. Its a lot easier to fix a dimensional mistake on sketchup than in the shop.

On the down side it does have its quirks sometimes. If it doesn't like something you are trying to do it has a brain cramp and has to shut down.
A notice screen comes up saying sketchup experienced ..(what was it )..... a bug splat??... or something equally retarded (although admit-ably funny) sounding. Its been a while since I pissed it off that bad.

I do love being able to "spin" a completed drawing, and look at it from angles I couldn't see in a conventional blueprint style drawing.

To answer your original ?? on the short..................
1) figuring dimensions....ABSOLUTELY!!... its great for that.
2) Materials...... I think you are talking quantity (board feet) and cut list, not MDF vs. Oak, in which case I have seen mention of a plug-in that is supposed to do that, though I have never used it. If I remember the name, or where I saw it I'll post it later.