PDA

View Full Version : Making interior French doors

Alex Horvath
11-28-2009, 5:06 PM
Hi,

Been thinking about this one for a while now. I'm an intermediate woodworker and I have "Make your own Handcrafted Doors and Windows" by John Birchard (not terribly well written IMO).

The book is somewhat dated and he uses shapers but MLCS has a 1&3/8" and 1&3/4" rail and stile door set. Freud just announced a French door set $300+ which presumably handles the muntins better but I don't like the way they put the sets together (set has bits most people will already have) and their aren't any specs available yet..

Anyhow, before I jump in I thought I'd ask a few questions on things I'm not sure on -

Material - I'd like to use Mohagany. As the book says, doors are especially sensitive to warping, and it's more obvious with double French doors. He suggests using quarter sawn or rift sawn lumber. Of course you see a lot of quarter sawn oak but is quarter or rift sawn Mohagany available? It's not essential on an interior door but if I can get it...

Muntins - This is the part that was most confusing to me but the book provides lots of advice in this area. The only caveat with a router is that on one side of the muntin, the profile will have to be removed so the glass can be inserted (I'm assuming no router bit specifically for 1&3/4" muntins is available). The MLCS literature suggests to do this hand held with a rabbet bit after door assembly but this would have me chewing my nails to say the least.

In the book, the author describes a stock holding jig with the cope profile to cut the stick on the router/shaper and I'm sure something similar could be done to remove the profile on one side of the muntins using a router table with a rabbit bit. Then the matching glass stop can be cut from stock suitably prepared with the stick profile.