PDA

View Full Version : What is your Bible

harry strasil
11-28-2009, 11:42 AM
Machinists call Machinery's Handbook their Bible, and most Machinist's Tool Chests have a Large Narrow Drawer at the middle top of the Chest specifically to hold the Bible.

As a Galoot Woodworker, My Bibles are "The Practical Woodworker" and "The Complete Woodworker" both edited by Bernard E. Jones, and 4 or 5 books on Shaker Furniture, I like the clean simple lines that go with any decor.

What do you use for your Bible or Bibles?

Vic Castello
11-28-2009, 11:58 AM
The Bible!

:eek:

Oh....you must mean in terms of woodworking.

Woodcarving Illustrated.

:)

Dennis McGarry
11-28-2009, 12:16 PM
Tourniquets the complete idiots guide to applying with one hand...

:)

Haven't got a bible for woodworking yet..

Jim Holman
11-28-2009, 1:18 PM
I like the Jones books you have mentioned. Also the Cabinetmakers encyclopedia, Earnest Joyce, I believe. My all time favorites are by Aldren Watson, "Country Furniture" and "Hand tools their ways and working." Love his drawings.

Don C Peterson
11-28-2009, 2:07 PM
SMC is my go-to reference most of the time, that and I have your phone number!!!

phil harold
11-28-2009, 2:17 PM
I have a bible for corded tools...

http://sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?p=1270175#post1270175

Need one for hand tools one day...

Brian Ashton
11-28-2009, 8:35 PM
The book I seem to crack the most is a book by Albert Sack called The New Fine Points Of Furniture Early American. It is loaded with pictures and short descriptions of what he thinks are the subtle features that distinguishes the masterpieces from the average.

Randal Stevenson
11-28-2009, 10:43 PM
While I find it handy to not have a bible, but a Library, one I bought after reading about it, and enjoy, is the Audel's carpenters and builders series.