PDA

View Full Version : Information needed about Scroll Saws

Tom Lewis
11-24-2009, 3:15 PM
I am thinking about getting a scroll saw. What features should I look for, and what brands and models would you recomend?

John Terefenko
11-24-2009, 3:33 PM
I am thinking about getting a scroll saw. What features should I look for, and what brands and models would you recomend?

Tom

I do not want to sound evasive but to save some typying just type in scrollsaws in the search feature here and you will see a bunch of posts about scrollsaw and in one of them I know I broke it down by cost and features. You may not get alot of answers here so this will get you started in the right direction. Good luck and welcome to the fun world of scrolling. I have been scrolling for over 25 years and still do not tire of it.

Bob Borzelleri
11-24-2009, 3:55 PM
In my view, there are three classes of scroll saw decision. One is cheap and generally smaller (16" or so) and for quality and performance, you get what you pay for.

Another is expensive and yes, while you get what you pay for, you will pay a lot >$1,000. The third is Dewalt DW788 where you still get what you pay for but the difference between the Dewalt and the cheapies is significant while the difference between the Dewalt and the expensive saws, while appreciable, is not anywhere near as far off as the price differential might suggest. IOn fact, the Dewalt used to be made by one of the "elite" scroll saw manufacturers for Dewalt; don't know if this is still the case.

If you are planning on using a saw infrequently, the less expensive models might work well. If you plan on using a scroll saw regularly or want to refine your technique, I would avoid the <$300 saws.

The Dewalt can be had with stand and light for near $500 or so depending on how hard you search. I just checked and Grizzly has the combo for $449.00 plus $20 shipping.

http://www.grizzly.com/products/DW788-7880-7881-20-Scroll-Saw-W-Stand-And-Light/H7414