PDA

View Full Version : Any recommendations for a basic cabinet making book (geared for beginners)

Greg L. Brown
11-23-2009, 2:34 PM
Can anyone recommend a good book on how to build cabinets? I’m a hobby woodworker with basic knowledge of woodworking, but I haven’t built any cabinets before. I need to make some simple cabinets for my garage shop (basically just a cabinet case with plexi-glass sliding doors). My next project (that my wife is already bugging me about) is to build some shelves, doors and drawers for a small (6’ X 4’) walk-in closet. Something similar to Closet Maid (http://www.closetmaid.com/main.cfm?classification_id=0) that they sell at Home Depot. However, I need to learn some cabinet making basics before I tackle these jobs so I figured I should get a book. Any recommendations (nothing complex, just the basics)?

Thanks,
Greg

Roger Jensen
11-23-2009, 2:50 PM
I like The Complete Kitchen Cabinet Maker by Robert Lang.

Zach England
11-23-2009, 4:49 PM
I like this one:

http://www.amazon.com/Complete-Illustrated-Furniture-Cabinet-Construction/dp/1561584029/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1259012927&sr=8-1

scott vroom
11-23-2009, 5:09 PM
+1 for "The Complete Kitchen Cabinet Maker" by Robert Lang. By far the best book among the 5 that I purchased through Amazon. I highly recommend it.

Greg L. Brown
11-23-2009, 5:13 PM
This website and the people on it are invaluable! Thanks for all the helpful replies... it's makes the complex hobby of woodworking much more enjoyable.

-Greg

frank shic
11-23-2009, 6:00 PM
greg, i strongly recommend danny proulx's book on building kitchen cabinets. it's got actual cutlists for both euro style as well as face frame. none of the other books except that terrible one that's in a spiral bound format have this information.

Mac McQuinn
11-23-2009, 7:36 PM