PDA

View Full Version : Store wood vertically

Philip Johnson
11-23-2009, 6:01 AM
I went to look at some wood for sale and the guy had it all stored standing on end vertically. I thought that it was kind of nice to be able to have access to any board in your stash instead of digging through the whole pile. Now that I think about it the woodworking stores have their wood on display that way. Would this work to store wood or would it be more likely to warp

Rick Gooden
11-23-2009, 8:18 AM
I've been doing it for maybe 3 years with absolutely no problems. I can store 600+ bf easily in a spot 2' x 6' and access is outstanding. I highly recommend it.

John Coloccia
11-23-2009, 8:31 AM
I store much of mine vertically too now. I have to think that if anything, vertical is kinder to the wood. Much less force trying to bend it than if it's suspended from a couple of points with 10 other boards sitting on top of it. That's my guess, anyhow, and so far none of my wood is doing anything out of the ordinary. I just don't have the room to do it any other way. That's how i store my plywood too. That's also how my local lumber yard stores their plywood.

Tony Bilello
11-23-2009, 9:16 AM
I have been stacking lumber vertically for over 25 Years. It is the easiest way to store, rearrange, view and handle.
I dont know the exact angle that my rack is tilted backwards but here is how I determined it. I took a long board and tilted it against a wall. I keep adjusting the angle until It would easily fall against the rack and yet easily be pulled forward for removal. I made a set of angled frames from 3/4" MDF that I had laying around and the face boards were 1/2" MDF that were also laying around. I think that it is important to keep the larger boards in the rear so that when the boards are leaning against the rack, they are always flat against the MDF flat panels on the rack or the board behind it.