PDA

View Full Version : Possible to go 100% neander?

Dustin Irby
11-21-2009, 11:51 PM
I'm a fairly novice woodworker at this point and don't have a lot of investment in hand or power tools for that matter. So, I am at a point where I can make a decision to begin acquiring hand tools or go for the big table saw, router table, etc. Since I'm posting here, I am obviously leaning toward hand tools if possible, but I need some help from folks who do this to understand what I can accomplish and what tools I might need to accomplish creating furniture I would be proud of and that my family will cherish down the road. I know there will be a steep learning curve, not only in what tools I need but in how to sharpen and maintain them, but there's just something I really like about the idea of REALLY making something by hand. I think I understand from a plane perspective a good start would be a smoother, jack and jointer plane. What about sawing? It would seem I may need 3 or more different saws (ripping, crosscut, backsaw/dovetail saw). Are there folks out there that feel they can use hand saws and forego the tablesaw? Thanks for your time in reading this lengthy post!

David Gendron
11-22-2009, 12:50 AM
First, Welcome to the Creek Dustin! As for 100% neanderthal, it is totaly possible, and that's what I do! When I started wood working seriously, about a year ago,I was dreaming of all the big power tools, and since I didn't have a shop big anought to put them, I decided to start with hand tools and in the future, get the shop and the tools that belong in it!! But after a year of doing every thing by hand, I became the big power tool and I'm happy that way! Tom Fidgen, run a professional shop in Toronto Canada and he does every thing by hand also and some amazing stuff! I will try to supply the link to is blog and web site!