PDA

View Full Version : Cedar Sunflower

Mark Cothren
11-21-2009, 10:50 PM
Decided to try something I've never done before - a piece to hang on a wall. A friend said it made him think of a sunflower, so I'm stickin' with it.

I had several Cedars in my yard that got some type of disease and they all died. This is the base of the stump from one of those trees.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v684/markfromark/woodturning/CedarWallHanger01-1.jpg

Brian Effinger
11-21-2009, 10:59 PM
Very cool, Mark. :cool:

I bet that was fun to turn. Did you turn it green?

David E Keller
11-21-2009, 11:00 PM
Very cool... Been thinking about something like this once I get a new lathe. Great size to the piece.

Mark Cothren
11-22-2009, 12:00 AM
Brian, the tree was dead when I cut it so it was already pretty dry. Then this slab has been sitting in my shop for several months.

Bernie Weishapl
11-22-2009, 1:01 AM
Mark that is beautiful. Have to agree with the sunflower.

alex carey
11-22-2009, 2:13 AM
BEAUTIFUL piece, love it, very impressive.

Norm Zax
11-22-2009, 2:57 AM
Looks great. I'd just tell people I got me a nice cedar ball (or small box) and dropped an anvil on it. Looks like a splash!

charlie knighton
11-22-2009, 3:00 AM
very nice...

Bill Bolen
11-22-2009, 12:27 PM
Beautiful piece Mark. I've taken down a bunch of Cedar from my acerage here. Think I better go give those stumps a second look. I'd sure like to do something like that. Thanks for the inspiration...Bill..

Richard Madison
11-22-2009, 12:58 PM
Mark, Cool piece! How thick was the slab you started with? Must keep it in mind for some of our ash-juniper (often called cedar). May have to borrow Norm's title ("Splash").

Mark Cothren
11-22-2009, 1:06 PM
Yeah, I like "splash" a lot, too... good idea!