PDA

View Full Version : sliding coumpound chop saw which is better

cody michael
11-21-2009, 10:39 AM
i want a sliding miter saw to do the bulk of my crosscutting hopefully to set up tablesaw with rip blade. are they accurate enough for that? i'm far from a pro.

the first one at sears
http://bfads.net/GMC-10in-sliding-compount-miter-saw-at-Sears

the other one

http://bfads.net/10-Sliding-Miter-Saw-at-Menards

is the sears one worth the price difference? if i don't buy one of these i probably won't buy one at all for a long time. are they to cheap to work okay? any better idea in same budget range?

Joe Spear
11-21-2009, 11:19 AM
A Bosch sliding, compound, dual-bevel 10" miter saw for $79.99? If that is not a misprint, grab it. The Bosch is much better than that Sears saw. However, unless there is some strange merchandising promotion going on, that Menard's price has got to be a mistake. For example, the price at Ace Hardware online in $440. Of course, it could be one of those super Black Friday deals that you have to get in line for today and camp out until you have a shot at it next Friday morning.

scott vroom
11-21-2009, 11:35 AM
I didn't see a Bosch saw in either link. Did I miss something?

Richard M. Wolfe
11-21-2009, 1:02 PM
There is an ad for a Bosch at the top of the Menard's link but the saw advertised at 79.99 appears to be something else. I checked Harbor Freight, notorious for cheap prices, and the cheapest 10" slide miter is about $120. That said, having used a cheap one for years, the formula is: inexpensive + miter saw = frustration. I will use a variety of inexpensive tools and be satisfied with the results but a miter saw isn't one.

Steve Leverich
11-21-2009, 1:34 PM