PDA

View Full Version : Panel glue-ups using old flooring...biscuits necessary?

Josh Reet
11-21-2009, 3:18 AM
I hear conflicting advice on this.

I'm going to be using some old maple gym flooring to create a small bookshelf for my baby nephew's room. His parents are "green" folks who will love the reclaimed lumber aspect of the project.

Anyway, I'm going to take off the t&g with the table saw and glue the boards up into aprox 12in wide panels. Do I need biscuits for alignment or not? These aren't junk boards and seem fairly straight and non-bowed/warped. But I don't have a biscuit joiner at the moment, and if I'm going to buy one I'd like to do it while the dewalt is still on sale at Lowes.

In case it wasn't obvious, I've never done a panel glue up before.

Mark Warwick
11-21-2009, 3:35 AM
Everyone has an opinion. that's why you got conflicting ones. I'd use a glue joint router bit and nothing more. Glue holds what 3000 pounds per square inch? If they are nice and flat you won't have any trouble lining them up.

Greg Hawthorne
11-21-2009, 4:36 AM
Try dry-clamping the boards using the existing T&G an see whether the join is acceptable. In addition to aligning the boards, the T&G significantly increases the glue surface area, which is what you would be trying to achieve if using a router bit.

Glue bits are good if you can machine the boards after glue-up, as perfect alignment is not all that easy to achieve.

Panel clamps are also an option, e.g. http://www.veritastools.com/Products/Page.aspx?p=136

Doug Carpenter
11-21-2009, 8:59 AM
I would think the existing T&G would be good with one exception. I wonder if the joint is intentionally loos to allow expansion. This could be solved by using that Gorrila glue and the like because it expands like crazy. I would think that since the wood has aged it will be nice to work with and should behave well.

Harold Burrell
11-21-2009, 12:01 PM
Funny you should ask...