PDA

View Full Version : New Jointer G0490 - Need HELP

Chris Jasmine
11-19-2009, 9:07 PM
Hi all,

I have been lurking here for awhile and finally need a question answered. To give you some back ground about me I am a begining to intermediate woodworker so dont hesitate to give me advise that seems like common knowledge to others.
I recently bought a Grizzly G0490. Durring the set up the out feed bed was out of parrellel with the cutter head. It took some patience but I was easily able to align the outfeed table with the knives. When I ran my first board through the jointer everything seemed to work fine except that the jointed edge did not end up smooth. The edge of all the boards that I ran through the jointer ended up with very faint wavy ridges across the direction of cut. I have used many jointers in the past but they all beloned to my friends and were already set up properly so I have no idea what adjustment I should start with. Can anyone give me a suggestion about what might be causing this wavy problem?

Cheers,

Chris

Callan Campbell
11-19-2009, 9:17 PM
I'm no jointer guru, in my home shop it's the one machine I struggle to keep tuned up. Try checking that all the knives are even in height with your outfeed table. Kind of sounds like you have one high/misadjusted blade/knife or your feed rate is too fast. Hope this helps you out

James G. McQueen
11-19-2009, 9:21 PM
Try to slow your feed rate down. This will make those ridges closer together and less noticable. You won't eliminate them completely. Start with this.

glenn bradley
11-19-2009, 9:36 PM