PDA

View Full Version : What saw

Rick Davidson
11-19-2009, 12:07 AM
Hello everyone new here and been browsing a bit. I am new to woodworking and am looking to buy my first table saw. I am back and forth between Delta and Grizzly. I don't want to spend more then about $800 less is better. So far I am looking at the Delta 36-981 For $825 including shipping. Or the Grizzly GO444. What do you guys recommend? What is better bang for the buck the Delta's or the Grizzly's? Do you recommend a diffrent saw all together?:confused::confused:

Thanks

Mike Heidrick
11-19-2009, 12:38 AM
Welcome. If you want new - Save for the Grizzly G1023SL.

Buy it before it goes off sale - $889 shipped

http://grizzly.com/products/G1023SL

Jim Dailey
11-19-2009, 12:40 AM
Hi & Welcome Rick,

If your serious about woodworking, think about a cabinet saw not a contractor style saw (less vibration, better cuts, possibly larger capacity, and a high quality fence). With many of us moving to a SawStop table saw for safety & insurance reasons, many high quality cabinet saws are flooding the market like Unisaws & Powermatic 66's. Be patient... watch your local Craig's list and you should be very pleasantly surprised on how far your $800 budget will stretch.

Good luck,
jim

Jason White
11-19-2009, 6:42 AM
+1 on the G1023.

Jason

Welcome. If you want new - Save for the Grizzly G1023SL.

Buy it before it goes off sale - $889 shipped

http://grizzly.com/products/G1023SL

Ken Higginbotham
11-19-2009, 7:49 AM
On a side note - I am relatively new to the hobby and bought a Steel City 3hp/220v saw and I am happy with it but I think if I had to do it over again I'd put in a few more dollars and get one of the saws you've listed. I can not imagine a non-production shop ever needing anymore power than 3hp/220v. The ones you've listed just seem like better saws. And with the table saw being the cornerstone of the shop get the best you can afford :)

Bob Borzelleri
11-19-2009, 11:20 AM
Rick...