PDA

View Full Version : Small Box

Ken Glass
11-18-2009, 9:50 AM
Hey Gang,
Here is a little Box I made from some left over Red Flame Box Elder I had. I choose it because it had some burled areas I liked. It is going to be a present. It is 8-1/2" tall and 4" in diameter. It is the first box I have ever done, but I at least matched the grain from the top to the box. Other than that it is rather plain, even boring I think. I believe my photography has taken a step back . Lots of shadows and I think my camera was set on the wrong setting. Oh Well, I am a turner not a Photographer. No excuses.

Maybe I will have more time to work on my turning and photo's in 31days when retirement comes rolling in. It gets harder to fit work into the equation every passing day. I'm on my way tomorrow to pick up a new toy. No, not a turning tool. I purchased a restored vintage MGB roadster convertible and I have an 8-1/2 hour drive, and then the same back to home.
I will get a night in Knoxville to visit a 1st cousin I have not seen in a while, so the trip should be lots of fun.

Steve Mawson
11-18-2009, 10:13 AM
Pretty nice box. I was going to say little but it's not so little. Never tried box elder but looks like very nice wood to turn. Assume the lid fits close and you did keep the grain lined up. I am kinda green on the retirement part. New toy sounds like fun.

Ken Fitzgerald
11-18-2009, 10:16 AM
MGB Roadster convertible???????? Talk about a Stealth Gloat!

Nice box BTW Ken!

Enjoy retirement! Well deserved, I'm sure.

John Keeton
11-18-2009, 10:32 AM
Retirement????:confused: What is that? I have heard the word, but don't grasp the concept?!?!

Ken, very nice work, and I am jealous of both the retirement and the MGB!!