PDA

View Full Version : Woodburners

Jerry Rhoads
11-18-2009, 8:10 AM
What woodburners do some of you guys use?
What hand peices?
And what tips
Which tip is best for signing your name?

I have been eyeballing a Burnmaster Eagle 2 port, for a couple of years now. I think am going to put it on my Christmas list.

Jerry

Bernie Weishapl
11-18-2009, 8:41 AM
I guess I am cheap Jerry. I use a 30 watt soldering iron that has worked pretty well for me. I found several different tips for it. I have been looking at one of those units and doing some research.

alex carey
11-18-2009, 1:09 PM
+1 on the soldering iron.

Mike Minto
11-18-2009, 2:05 PM
jerry, i just bought a 'detailer' from packard - i've used it only a few times, but it's a really great tool. interchangeable tips for thick/thin lines, printing, shading in figures - i'm looking forward to exploring it more. for me, it's already proven to be easier to use and much more versatile than a soldering iron - which i used for a couple of years. hope this helps.

Joseph M Lary
11-18-2009, 2:34 PM
Got the Cub Woodwriter from craft supply , got the adapter so i could use the Razertip accessories. it works very ,good you have to watch your heat when you change for kind of wood to another. also bought the ball stylus pen .

Ryan Baker
11-18-2009, 9:11 PM
I use a Cub Woodwriter too with the smallest point tip for writing. It has plenty of heat.

Ken Glass
11-18-2009, 11:47 PM
Jerry,
One more vote for the cub Woodwriter. They have lots of tips to go with it and some other brands tips work with it also.

Jerry Rhoads
11-20-2009, 7:50 AM
Thanks everone

Jerry

Richard Madison
11-20-2009, 10:05 AM
Razortip with skew pen, shader, and 1.5 mm ball tip pen. Would like one of the smaller ball tips but cannot justify more $$. Recently sold my first "pyro" piece, patterned after Wally Dickerman's work. Very gratifying.

Nathan Hawkes
11-20-2009, 12:27 PM