PDA

View Full Version : Fine Woodworking back issue offer - worth $149?

scott vroom
11-17-2009, 12:20 PM
I just received an email offer from Fine Woodworking to purchase all 208 back issues of their magazine, dating back to 1975, for $149 on DVD. Has anyone purhased this? Is it worth it? How helpful is their search feature? I'm fairly new to woodworking and was thinking there might be lots of useful info/articles.

Scott Hildenbrand
11-17-2009, 12:31 PM
What is that, like 408 issues? That breaks down to 37 cents per issue.

I don't doubt there would be tons of stuff in there to read up on. Some of which could be easily adapted to modern methods. Plans, articles, etc etc..

Should email them and see if they'll send you a old sample issue off the set so you can check the quality.. ;)

Russ Kay
11-17-2009, 12:37 PM
It's a DVD, not the paper issues. I bought the set when it was first offered, about four years ago. I've looked into it maybe twice. I was not impressed with the search function, but they may have improved it since.

Josh Reet
11-17-2009, 12:40 PM
It's a DVD, not the paper issues. I bought the set when it was first offered, about four years ago. I've looked into it maybe twice. I was not impressed with the search function, but they may have improved it since.

The search and index functions of these things are always the main problems with this stuff. Unless you are the kind of guy who likes to read issue by issue on the computer, you are more likely to use it as a reference set. And if you are using it that way, a good search or index is essential.

I keep thinking about buying the Wood magazine set but keep coming back to the same problem, would I be able to make use of it? I really wish I had a buddy close by who wanted to split the cost of the Wood set as it's not likely to be the kind of thing one would need every day.

Scott Hildenbrand
11-17-2009, 12:56 PM
It's a DVD, not the paper issues.