PDA

View Full Version : router lift vs router that adjusts from above the table

Dave Loebach
11-14-2009, 10:33 AM
It seems the new routers that allow you to adjust the height from the bottom side make router lifts obsolete and are a lot cheaper than buying a lift and a router. It seems that you have full accesss to the collet/bit and can easily adjust the height. Why buy a lift these days? Can some experts provide a some insights?

Thanks.

Dave Loebach

scott vroom
11-14-2009, 10:56 AM
It seems the new routers that allow you to adjust the height from the bottom side make router lifts obsolete and are a lot cheaper than buying a lift and a router. It seems that you have full accesss to the collet/bit and can easily adjust the height. Why buy a lift these days? Can some experts provide a some insights?

Thanks.

Dave Loebach

Did you mean to say "from the top side"?

glenn bradley
11-14-2009, 11:07 AM
I'm no expert but have had experience with both. There are varying qualities of both lifts and router mechanisms designed for above the table adjustments. I would recommend reading as many reviews on the subject as you can. Digest the information rather than go straight to the final results. Some magazines that rely on advertising dollars seem to have "winners" that didn't really test that well.

Now that I've managed to sneak my little soap box speech in there . . . All camlock bodies, the type that lock the motor in position via a little lever that draws a gap in the base together to lessen the diameter, have a bit of a 'shift' when the mechanism is locked. The amount of this effect varies with the router base design. I found some of them to have more than I was comfortable with. If you find one with a deviation that is within your tolerance, you're good.

I narrowed it down to the Milwaukee 5625 and ran it without a lift for quite awhile and it was very usable. Relating to above the table features only:

Pros:
- Easy height adjustment.