PDA

View Full Version : Need help/advice on Casting Resin

Ray Binnicker
11-13-2009, 8:37 PM
I want to cast some wine bottle stoppers with a colored base and clear top half containing an embedment. I am having trouble understanding the ratio of hardner-vs-resin. I can keep experimenting and wasting resin and an embedment or hope someone here can put me on to a tutorial or video that will enlighten me.
TIA
Ray Binnicker

Jeff Nicol
11-14-2009, 5:29 AM
There are a bunch of videos on Youtube about casting resin and things, also try the Pen Turners assoc. They have some things on there also. Or jsut do a search on the web and you will find more than you can read in a month!

Jeff

Mark Hix
11-14-2009, 8:35 AM
I am just learning the casting witch craft myself....my understanding is that it depends on which resin you are using...they are all different. Some are mixed by volume and some by weight. I recently attended an allumilite demo for those kinds of stoppers and they weighed the 2 parts on digital scales.

Norm Zax
11-14-2009, 12:26 PM
What resin are you mixing (type and source are welcomed info)?

Ray Binnicker
11-14-2009, 5:53 PM
I am currently using Easy Cast from "Michaels"; the stuff you have use the "drops" of hardner with. I think it is my technique but I can't seem to get the hang of it.

John Terefenko
11-14-2009, 6:31 PM
I am currently using Easy Cast from "Michaels"; the stuff you have use the "drops" of hardner with. I think it is my technique but I can't seem to get the hang of it.

Ray