PDA

View Full Version : Contract or Protection

James & Zelma Litzmann
11-13-2009, 10:35 AM
If you have some designs and you wanted to get a sign made from a sign company with these designs, how can you be sure they won't reproduce your designs on their own. Is there a contract or something that could be used.

Scott Shepherd
11-13-2009, 10:56 AM
I'm not a lawyer, but my understanding of it is that if you create it, then it belongs to you, regardless of anyone signing anything. It is copyright protected by you.

However, it's expensive to protect it. Once it's out there and they copy it, against the law, your only recourse is legal action which is expensive.

It's difficult, but you have to have a trust relationship with the people you work with. If you don't feel comfortable, then don't use them. Also, I'd make sure I have a discussion with them up front about not expecting to see your work and ideas reproduced without your permission.

Tough one. People that want to copy and steal will copy and steal. Anything you do to protect yourself is only keeping the honest people honest, in my opinion.

Dennis McGarry
11-13-2009, 11:01 AM
That is a difficult question easily answer.

In basic terms its your work, BUT in providing it to another to reproduce you have to make sure that their own contract for the work does not grant them rights to it.

Just creating something does not inherently give you protection from it.

Best course of action is to talk the shop doing the work and ask them what their policy is on the matter.

You can file a copyright on it yourself but then some shops may not produce it. You can also draw up a basic contract or ask to have a amendment added to theirs granting them the right to produce it only in a set number of works provided then to you. And use wording that in no way releases the work from you to them for any future productions without your express written consent..

Dan Hintz
11-13-2009, 11:38 AM