PDA

View Full Version : First time engraving a mirror - need help

natasha robbins
11-12-2009, 2:15 PM
Hey all,
This is my first time engraving on a mirror so i'm not sure what i might doing wrong.
I have a Gravograph LS 100 engraver
I have my Power @ 90% Speed @ 41% and DPI 600
I'm only getting through to the mirror just a little bit. part will be clear but the other part still has the "gold type" covering on it....am i missing a step or could it just be the type of mirror i have? I bought it at Lowes.

Thanks in advance for all your help

Dan Hintz
11-12-2009, 2:36 PM
Natasha,

It will help everyone in the future if you provide machine details (including power) in your signature.

I see no reason why you would lase at anything other than 100% power if you're going slower than 100% speed. You could make two passes, or try 100P at the same speed (41%). The problem you're running into is a non-uniform coating thickness (assuming your machine is aligned properly), and there's not a lot you can do other than multiple passes or beat it into submission with more power.

The cheaper mirrors (Lowe's would be included in that most of the time) are better due to their relatively thin coating.

Lee DeRaud
11-12-2009, 2:50 PM
I've got a 25W (nominal, seems to run a little hotter than that) ULS, just got done doing some tests: cheap Stanley mirror tiles from Home Depot, even cheaper mirror tiles from Ikea, and some samples of mirrored acrylic I've had laying around forever. The coating on all three seemed very uniform.

All worked fine at 100% power, 50% speed, image density set to 5 (one notch higher than default, no clue what that works out to in DPI). It's not a fast process though: about 50 minutes per 12"x12" tile, partly due to the higher-than-normal density setting. :eek:

Dan Hintz
11-12-2009, 3:25 PM
Lee,

1-6 = 75, 125, 250, 333, 500, 1000 dpi (if memory serves, need to verify when I get home)

Lee DeRaud
11-12-2009, 4:07 PM