PDA

View Full Version : Craftsman 8" table saw w/ 6

Will Boulware
11-12-2009, 10:55 AM
For starters, I'm new to this hobby. I've done some basic projects with a circular saw, etc. but no table saw work. I inherited an 8" craftsman jobsite saw from my grandfather and I tossed the blade that came with it. Replaced it with a 7 1/4 freud avanti (the Italian one, not a new chinese one). I also got a 6" dado set for it, but I'm seriously considering returning it. Will a 6" blade give me enough workable height to do anything with? Will this saw even reasonably spin the thing, or is it going to be a hazard?

Thanks in advance. Just don't want to use my garage window (or worse, me! :D) to stop a kick-back if I can help it!

Edit: Apologies about the thread title. Hit post accidentally before re-reading it.

Rod Sheridan
11-12-2009, 11:13 AM
Hi, I don't know anything about your saw.

Is it a belt drive machine?

What size of motor does it have?

Dado cutters are normally smaller in diameter than main blades.

They can also require more power because of the amount of material they are removing.

A dado is normally shallow, in the 1/4" to 1/2" deep range, so a large diameter dado blade isn't required.

If your machine has a long enough arbour to mount the cutter, a table insert for a dado, you should try it out.

A dado cut is shallow, and the feed rate is slow. You may be just fine.

Regards, Rod.

P.S. I just purchased a saw that takes a 12" main blade, and a 7" dado.

On another subject, if your saw doesn't have a guard and splitter, buy or make them for your saw.

Will Boulware
11-12-2009, 11:24 AM