PDA

View Full Version : Tear out

Paul Singer
11-10-2009, 9:06 PM
I am new to turning and I am having trouble with tear out. I was turning a green Cherry bowl this evening and had the outside just the way I wanted. Turned it around to do the inside and it was a little out of round so I thought I would just true it up with a little bowl gouge. Got it almost done and the gouge took a big chunk out of the side. I am having this problem with green and dry wood and I am not sure what I am doing wrong. I thought originally that I did not have the right gouges so I bought a set of bowl gouges from PSI. They work good but I am still catching chunks. I know it is hard to tell me what I am doing wrong without seeing me in action but is there a trick or something that might help. I have watch numerous utube videos and I am not seeing what I am doing different unless it might be speed. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Toney Robertson
11-10-2009, 9:16 PM
Order Bill Grumbine's DVD on bowl turning. It is a great video. He is funny and informative. I would bet that would get you straightened out.

Good luck.

Toney

Steve Schlumpf
11-10-2009, 9:27 PM
George - Welcome to the Creek!

I'll second Toney's recommendation of Bill Grumbine's video 'Turned Bowls Made Easy'. Lots of great information!

Hard to suggest improvements without knowing how you are turning, how you are holding the gouge, angle of cut, speed, wood - etc. There are a lot of variables that come into play when turning and it may just be easier for you to get with an experienced turner and have them demo proper techniques.

You don't list where you are from - any chance you can join a local turning club? Folks in the clubs love to help out!

David Christopher
11-10-2009, 9:30 PM
welcome to the creek George. if you are getting catches in green wood, it could be that the tool is not sharp enough or you need to turn the gouge a little farther clockwise or both

Mark Hubl
11-10-2009, 9:47 PM
Hey George,