PDA

View Full Version : Uses for redwood...

Harold Burrell
11-09-2009, 10:16 PM
Somebody in my area is selling some California Redwood lumber on CL...

http://elmira.craigslist.org/mat/1456939347.html

What could somebody use that for and how much is it worth?

Dennis McGarry
11-09-2009, 10:28 PM
What could somebody use that for and how much is it worth?

You are kidding with that question right?

Hmmm decks, workbench top, decks, gazabo's, out door hot tub surround..decks. Roughly $3 to $5 a BF..

"Impervious to weather, rot or insect infestation"

Harold Burrell
11-09-2009, 10:31 PM
You are kidding with that question right?

Hmmm decks, workbench top, decks, gazabo's, out door hot tub surround..decks.

"Impervious to weather, rot or insect infestation"

No...I wasn't kidding...just clueless. :o

I am VERY new at all of this...not to mention that we don't see much redwood here in PA.

Have any idea what it might be worth?

Dennis McGarry
11-09-2009, 10:33 PM
Sorry about that, I hope I didnt come off to strong there. Didnt mean to.

Depending on where it is, I have seen it as low as 3 a Board foot and up to 6 a board foot.

Oh and redwood siding is great as well.

Dell Littlefield
11-09-2009, 10:43 PM
There are some really beautiful strip canoes made of redwood.

Harold Burrell
11-09-2009, 10:43 PM
Sorry about that, I hope I didnt come off to strong there. Didnt mean to.

Depending on where it is, I have seen it as low as 3 a Board foot and up to 6 a board foot.

Oh and redwood siding is great as well.

Oh, no...I wasn't offended...I appreciated the response. Thank you.

I'm really not all that embarrassed by my "cluelessness". I mean, I figure everybody here had to learn sometime. I just soooo appreciate all of the insight here.

Jamie Buxton
11-09-2009, 11:17 PM
Redwood is rather soft. You can easily dent it with your thumbnail. Because of that I wouldn't use it for furniture.

Harold Burrell
11-09-2009, 11:20 PM