PDA

View Full Version : Newbie looking for table saw advice

Victor Robinson
11-09-2009, 1:19 PM
Hello everyone,

I'm a relative newb to serious woodworking and SMC, but am currently setting up a small workshop in my garage. I'll be mostly building small things for around the home (frames, small furniture, built-ins) and also will be rebuilding an old rotting deck in our yard.

I'm in the market for a table saw (finally!). Space and budget are an issue, but I'd like something that I can depend on to make accurate cuts for furniture, not just rip lumber.

After preliminary research, I'm leaning towards the Dewalt 745, which I can get online for about $375. Any experience here with this saw? Things to look out for or must-have accessories? Is the stock blade pretty decent or do folks replace it immediately? I've read that the miter gauge on this saw is pretty useless, but I've a got a miter saw for those cuts.

Thanks in advance!

Don Jarvie
11-09-2009, 3:39 PM
I would go with a contractors saw at minimum. Most come with a 27 inch wide table and 30 inch fence with a decent amount of power.

The 745 has a small table and for accurate cuts you want the bigger table the contractors saw can provide and the longer fence makes those cuts easier.

Kirk Simmons
11-09-2009, 5:54 PM
Buy a good used contractor saw off of Craigslist. You will get a much better saw for your money than if you buy a new one in the store. When folks move (foreclosure, divorce, job change, etc) they often sell their slightly used woodworking equipment for 1/2 price, and you can commonly chisel the price down a little more if you work at it.

Your profile doesn;t show where you live, so I'll have to give examples from my own neighborhood, Minneapolis MN.

Delta Saw w Unifence and extras for $425 (more money than you talked about, but it's pretty tricked out for a contractor saw) - http://minneapolis.craigslist.org/wsh/tls/1457899755.html