PDA

View Full Version : Grizzly Drill Presses

george wilson
11-07-2009, 10:58 PM
I noticed that the 20" drill press in Grizzly's Christmas flyer has a low speed of 210 rpm. The SMALLER drill presses go down to 140 rpm. Since the larger drill press SAYS it will drill a 1 1/4" hole in steel,and the smaller ones will drill a smaller maximum hole,which DO NOT require the drill to go as slow,why does the larger D.P. not go the slowest? It takes a very slow speed to drill large holes in steel.

I've been thinking about a heavier duty drill press,but find the speed difference very strange,and "upside down." Any comments? I am also a machinist.

Dick Strauss
11-07-2009, 11:55 PM
1.5 hp on the 20" and 0.75 hp on the 15" DP...

Tom Veatch
11-08-2009, 12:41 AM
If the difference in hole size capability is because of the power difference, I guess the question is, "Will a minimum value of 69.4 SFM (1.25" dia/212 RPM) do the job?"

george wilson
11-08-2009, 10:11 AM
The drill press's power is not the issue. A large drill needs to go slower in steel,or the corners of the drill will just burn off.

I am also a machinist,and as toolmaker in the museum,I also made large wagon axles. We made them out of 2 1/2" square hot rolled steel. We had to drill large holes through the axles to mount them. I bought a large drill press from MSC for making them. It went slow enough,but It also cost about $2000.00,IIRC. It was an altogether heavier machine than the Grizzly here. the speeds,not the weight is the issue,however.

The maintenance dept. was wanting a large variable speed drill press,and was having the same problem finding one that ran decently slow. They weren't budgeted to spend a huge amount. It wouldn't COST any more for a designer to make a drill press run slower. Just different pulley diameters.