PDA

View Full Version : What to buy - New to CNC

Howard Boehm
11-06-2009, 9:36 PM
I want to get a cnc machine to carve items on doors and cabinets. I am an advanced woodworker but only for a hobby. What is a good machine to start out with?

I feel this would enhance what I am now building. If you point me in some direction for a newbie.

Thanks

Michael Schwartz
11-06-2009, 11:23 PM
I would take a look at ShopBot, I just ordered a PRSstandard and expect it to arrive early december. Shopbot is known to make a proven product, with top notch support, and there machines are very affordable.

A number of people on the forum own, or have recently purchased machines from Camaster and like them. I will probably consider them again at some point if I end up in the market for a second machine. Other than a SB PrsAlpha with Tool Changer I will probably end up taking a good look at the Cobra X3 with 3 heads.

Other than that I really don't have anything to add. But my advice is don't just look at price and features. Unless you are a CNC Guru product support is obviously very important. What may appear to be a good deal, especially from overseas or an importer might turn out to be a mess if something goes wrong.

Guy Mathews
11-07-2009, 6:59 AM
I would take a look at ShopBot, I just ordered a PRSstandard and expect it to arrive early december. Shopbot is known to make a proven product, with top notch support, and there machines are very affordable.

A number of people on the forum own, or have recently purchased machines from Camaster and like them. I will probably consider them again at some point if I end up in the market for a second machine. Other than a SB PrsAlpha with Tool Changer I will probably end up taking a good look at the Cobra X3 with 3 heads.