PDA

View Full Version : Arched/Cathedral cabinet door template advice please

Paul Greathouse
11-05-2009, 4:57 PM
Which Arched/Cathedral cabinet door template guides do you like and why.

I will be starting a new set of kitchen cabinets in a couple weeks and my wife wants either Arched or Cathedral doors. I've made lots of regular raised panel doors in the past so I'm familiar with the basic process. I googled "Arched door template" and got several hits but I've never worked with them before so I'm not sure which would be best.

I will be using a shaper for the panels and a table mounted router for the rails and stiles if that matters.

Any suggestions and/or recommendations would be appreciated.

J.R. Rutter
11-05-2009, 6:07 PM
Not sure if you want a brand recommendation or just a style preference.

I use a commercial Panelcrafter jig that is expensive and overkill for a single job, but it is a nice tool.

For general style, I personally like a simple arch that runs from inside corner to inside corner on the top rail. These would be easy to calculate and / or draw to make your own templates. Just keep the width from the top of the curve to the top of the rail constant.

Plan to lose a couple of rails, but here is my method for minimizing damage:

Cope the infeed end (for when you shape and stick it, varies for cutter orientation).

Cut the curve by whatever means you prefer. You can finish with a flush cutter riding a template for the smoothest results, or just sand to a line if you want.

Stick the arched rail.

Now cope the other end using a square backer on what will be the top edge to avoid blowout, as normal.

Peter Quinn
11-05-2009, 7:32 PM
I haven't made cathedral (we call them tomb stones) doors, and I really only like to see them on certain pieces of period furniture. I find them a bit oppressive visually when they occur on every door in an entire kitchen. Personal preference thing I guess. I'd probably buy those templates if i were going to make them