PDA

View Full Version : Magazine Recommendation?

Mike Rees
11-05-2009, 1:50 PM
Hey Gang,

As some of you may know from prior posts of mine, I'm going to be building some things in the coming months (shed, deck box, another work bench [need to change some things about my first one], trim molding, crown molding etc.). Than today my wife hits me with "I'd like to put a island in the middle of the kitchen" and I'm thinking 'there has to be plans for that somewhere ...'. Than I'm thinking 'If I found a plan, could I actually pull it off?' SO ....

I'd like to subscribe to a magazine that can show me how to do things - preferably in terms and steps that a beginner can follow and grow into. My joinery consists of but joints (butt?), my background is pretty much my first and only work bench (a success though !).

Can somebody point me in the right direction?

Thanks,
Mike

glenn bradley
11-05-2009, 1:57 PM
Workbench Magazine is home improvement oriented and has pretty detailed plans for their projects.

Denny Rice
11-05-2009, 1:58 PM
Both ShopNotes and Popular Woodworking are both excellent magazines. If I had to choose just one and was just starting out, I think I would choose ShopNotes.

Montgomery Scott
11-05-2009, 2:27 PM
I'd recommend scrapping the idea of buying magazines. Buy books instead that are much more exhaustive on every topic than a three page article. Books like the FWW series on cabinet construction and shaping wood, Tage Frid or James Krenov on the same but also include design concepts, finishing books from Jeff Jewitt or Bob Flexner are going to give you the best bang for the buck. I have many issues of FWW and Wood and I'll still go to the books first for methods, techniques and designs.

Kyle Iwamoto
11-05-2009, 4:17 PM
+1 on books/DVD's on your subject of interest. In a mag, you may get an article on a kitchen island once a year. Unless of course, you need to buy new stuff, and I find the ads very informative.

Chris Tsutsui
11-05-2009, 4:24 PM