PDA

View Full Version : wood drying

Karl Card
11-05-2009, 9:43 AM
I just won 4 cherry crotch slabs and have plans for coffee table and end tables. They do have to be dryed however. They are all close to the same size: 76" long, 2.25 inches thick, and range from 14 to 25 inches wide. I got all 4 of them for 40 bucks and would really like to somehow keep them from cracking. Definitely would appreciate feedback on this one. If you dont mind I am new at this so if you can tell me "why" in addition to your response. Please dont take that in a bad way I just need to learn and knowing why is part of learning.

Danny Hamsley
11-05-2009, 10:28 AM
I just won 4 cherry crotch slabs and have plans for coffee table and end tables. They do have to be dryed however. They are all close to the same size: 76" long, 2.25 inches thick, and range from 14 to 25 inches wide. I got all 4 of them for 40 bucks and would really like to somehow keep them from cracking. Definitely would appreciate feedback on this one. If you dont mind I am new at this so if you can tell me "why" in addition to your response. Please dont take that in a bad way I just need to learn and knowing why is part of learning.

Sealing the ends is paramount to keep the slabs from checking or splitting. I use a commrcial formulation called anchorseal that really works. Regular paint works marginally, but it is better than nothing. If you want to do it a little cheaper, that aluminum roofing paint called Kool Seal from Lowes works pretty good, but it is very messy. You could also melt some parafin wax and liberally smear it on the ends to totally fill up all the end grain pores.