PDA

View Full Version : Help me Spend Money at Lee Valley

John Adam
11-03-2009, 8:22 PM
Guys,

I have $300 to spend at Lee Valley....wanna help?

I'm new to ww, and very new to hand tools. I have some Groz bench planes, which are junk - never got them to work on anything.

I have a hock blade I bought from LV and am making a wooden plane around it.

I have some decent chisels and a mid-quality pull saw.

Other than that, I'm a blank slate. I look through the catalog and just get lost in fantasy land.

So, in my condition, what would you buy (oh, I might want to save $50 to $100 for wood ;)?

george wilson
11-03-2009, 8:40 PM
What brand are your chisels,and are they new,still made? Big discussion of chisels in another thread. I guess the LV dovetail saw isn't too expensive,unless you plan to cut dovetails with your pull saw.

John Adam
11-03-2009, 8:45 PM
The chisels are Narex, bought from Lee Valley and I've found them to be fine - at least compared to the plastic handled ones I bought at sears 10 years ago ;)

I've tried to cut dovetails with the pull saw - owned about 6 months (bought at same time as the chisels). I seem to have issues getting a proper cut, but think that's due to technique rather than the tool....

Richard Niemiec
11-03-2009, 8:45 PM
Generally you can't go wrong at LV. Well, I can speak very well about the bevel up smoother and jack; I prefer their large router to LN's, love the medium and small shoulder planes, the small plough plane is a great plane, as well as the skewed rabbet plane (either of which will destroy your budget).

Depends on what you're looking for. I tend to not buy "normal" bench planes, but only those for which the Stanley equivalents are rare or "collector priced."

Good luck. RN

John Coloccia
11-03-2009, 8:47 PM
Guys,

I have $300 to spend at Lee Valley....wanna help?

I'm new to ww, and very new to hand tools. I have some Groz bench planes, which are junk - never got them to work on anything.