PDA

View Full Version : Something besides Pens

Bruce Shiverdecker
09-27-2004, 10:43 PM
When I started turning about three years ago, my first project was a "Weed Vase" for my Mother, who likes dried flowers. It was made out of Elm on a Shopsmith 520 which did two thinge. First, I found out that I liked to turn wood. The second thing I found was that The Shopsmith tool rest "Sucked" big time. I started looking for a buyer, so I could get a REAL Lathe. Due to small shop, I chose the Jet Mini. Couldn't be happer!

Sorry, I know this is a long read to get to today. I just finished my second vase. It is made of Walnut and is 6-1/4" tall and 4-1/4" in diameter at the top.

Any constructive criticism would be appreciated. Anything to help me improve the quality of my work.

Thanks in advance,
Bruce ;)

Dick Parr
09-27-2004, 11:11 PM
Very nice Bruce.

John Shuk
09-28-2004, 8:39 PM
Bruce,
I know we all need to improve but man I don't see any criticisms on that vase. I'm no expert but I like it alot. It seems an appropriate use of the wood.
John :D

Chris Padilla
09-29-2004, 12:53 PM
Bruce,

Very nice but I have to admit that the fat base distracts me...should be thinner/slimmer. In other words, the angle of the second pic looks good but then the first pic you see this huge base/leg that the vase is supported by. So there, a criticism! :)

John Shuk
09-29-2004, 9:20 PM
I have to say that it reminds me of a Bong!

Bruce Shiverdecker
09-30-2004, 1:29 AM
It was based on a Clay design I saw. I, too, wondered about the base. I thought I should have rolled it more on the bottom.

Thanks for all the comments, so far.

Bruce

Tom Sontag
09-30-2004, 1:20 PM