PDA

View Full Version : So many fun things to do, too little time

Andrew Schlosser
10-31-2009, 8:20 AM
I've been doing woodworking now for about 8 years. Last year, I got a MIG welder and started working on homemade bikes. This year, I started working on the metal lathe, mill, and CNC. A few weeks ago, my wife gets me a blacksmithing book, and the shop across the street from my house is selling a small forge.

Question: With all these fun, useful, interesting hobbies- how am I supposed to fit them all in AND put in a productive day of concentration at work?

What are the other hobbies that you guys are into? And how do you blend it with work?

Adam Strong
10-31-2009, 9:01 AM
My other hobbies usually share equal time and many are some how related back to woodworking at some point. Metal working, RC airplanes, RC cars, gardening, luthier (making guitars), and I am sure I have forgotten some others. Lately wood working has taken more than it's share, but these are mostly paid projects so I guess that makes it more of a job than a hobby. When your hobbies are included in your work, it helps keep that concentration and productivity level up.

Paul Greathouse
10-31-2009, 9:06 AM
My other hobbies are hunting and fishing. My sons and I will be going to check on our duck/goose blind this morning, the season opens in a couple weeks.

I have enough time for woodworking/cabinetmaking but I do find myself thinking about projects while at the day job. I have 5 weeks of vacation to burn at the end of the year, thats when I'll be building a new set of cabinets for our kitchen. Hunting in the morning, cabinets in the afternoon for 5 weeks straight, Man I'm Blessed.

Paul Atkins
10-31-2009, 1:03 PM