PDA

View Full Version : Deal or no deal

Mitchell Miracle
10-28-2009, 7:31 PM
Im a new poster to the Creek. However, I have been reading for over a year. I am a hobby woodworker and have a question about drum sanders. I have an opportunity to buy a Grizzly 1066Z, a Griz 3 HP and 1 1/2 HP shaper, and all of the cutter heads to do doors with ($450 from Griz) all for about $2000. They were bought new in 2008. Here is the question.....I really only want the drum sander. Will I ever really need the shapers? Also, I have not really read good reviews on the Griz sander. So, Deal or No Deal. If not, whats the best sander to buy.

Chris Tsutsui
10-28-2009, 7:50 PM
So grizz 1066Z went for over $2K new, and I saw one on CL used sell for $1K.

Grizz 1.5HP shaper = $500 new
Grizz 3HP shaper = $1,000 new
Plus bits which is $650

So if all of this is brand new, that's 50% off which is an OK deal. I would wish more for 70-80% off for a SLICK deal. :)

Here's another way to look at it.

If you think you can sell the 1.5HP shaper for $250, and the 3HP shaper for $600. Then try to sell the bits for $150... that's a thousand back after some work and sweat.

If that works out then that means you spent $1000 on the 1066Z which is an "ok" price for it. That sounds much better than paying $2500 new for it!

Mitchell Miracle
10-28-2009, 8:34 PM
Thanks Chris. I agree with your comments. However, I have not seen good reviews on the Griz 1066Z drum sander. Is it worth the risk or are the better sanders out there for $1000?

Chip Lindley
10-29-2009, 1:54 AM
Mitchell, the G1066Z is not a bad sander at all. It's certainly no Cadillac machine, but basically adequate, and better than the older version. The Z has a thick rough-top conveyor belt, micro-adjustable rear drum, AND variable feed speed! IMO, if you can get the machine at 1/2 price ($1000) you'd well be getting you money's worth!

Paul Johnstone
10-29-2009, 11:07 AM