PDA

View Full Version : New to Forum

Dean Jones
10-27-2009, 3:37 PM
Hi Guys,

I wanted to introduce myself. I'm a finish carpenter of 25+ years that's just taken up turning. I bought a very cheap lathe, and some very cheap turning tools, (one good bowl gouge) and I've been having a lot of fun. My biggest problem is finding inexpensive stock to turn.
I'm looking forward to being a member of the community here, I've already learned a lot by just reading. I'll post some pic's in the picture section.

Steve Schlumpf
10-27-2009, 3:46 PM
Dean - Welcome to the Creek! Looking forward to seeing some of your work!

On posting photos - if you are talking about the photo galleries - those are for individual contributors. If you want to post photos as part of your post - here are the instructions:
http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?t=25115

Let me know if you have any questions.

Dan Forman
10-27-2009, 3:46 PM
Looks like I get to be the first to say "Welcome to the Creek". One good way to find turning wood (green) is to start calling tree services, and offer to take some wood off of their hands. Around here, there is more pine and fir than hardwoods, but when I do score, I score big. I usually get one or two other turners to share it with, which also makes it easier to load the big pieces.

Edit: Looks like Steve beat me to it. :)

Dan

Dean Jones
10-27-2009, 4:06 PM
Wow, that was quick. I just went and signed up for a Flickr account, which is something I've been meaning to do for a while anyway. My page address is:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/strangerbytheminute/ (Please be kind )
(Stranger by the Minute is my old band name)

As far as wood goes I'm in Seattle. I'll have to call around and see what they're taking down. Thanks for the good advise.

George Morris
10-27-2009, 4:10 PM
Welcome! This is a good group and can offer lots of help. Keep in touch. G

John Keeton
10-27-2009, 4:11 PM