PDA

View Full Version : Kitchen ceiling suggestions please

Paul Greathouse
10-25-2009, 10:04 PM
We will be totally remodeling our kitchen this winter. I need to replace the 1989 popcorn blown ceiling. When I remodeled the master bath last year I scrapped the popcorn off and mudded the ceiling slick.
I may do the same thing in the kitchen but that was one heck of a job getting the bathroom ceiling just right without a texture (I'm not a professional drywaller but I get by).

I need some ideas of something I could cover the ceiling with after scrapping the popcorn or better yet something I could go directly over the popcorn with. The cabinets will be Pecan and the sheetrock walls will be painted a "yet to be determined" light color.

Texturing the sheetrock is an option but I was looking for something quick and easy that I can do myself but still look classy.

sean m. titmas
10-25-2009, 10:23 PM
you could install some style of tongue and groove bead board or you could do a frame and panel with beams dividing the room. either style should accent the cabinets and completely cover the sheetrock.

Brian Effinger
10-25-2009, 11:14 PM
A tin (actually I think they're aluminum now) ceiling might look good.

Jacob Robinson
10-25-2009, 11:14 PM
i know this might look like an ad for the product, but i swear, its not. you might look into getting something like these people make: http://www.armstrong.com/resclgam/na/ceilings/en/us/metallaire-metal-ceiling.asp
or a similar product, when installed well, it looks absolutely fantastic, and really gives a place a lot of character. Personally i hate plan old sheet-rock walls/ceilings, and would rather see wainscoting, chair rails, and metal paneling on ceilings.
true, thats just one person's style. i just think that textured sheet-rock looks like office construction.

Russell Tribby
10-26-2009, 3:26 AM