PDA

View Full Version : Slow Speed Grinder

mickey cassiba
10-23-2009, 8:56 PM
I want to build a slow speed grinder, primarily for lathe tools. Mr Harry Strasil, this question is aimed at you(mainly). I've read your posts, for the last year and a half and I like the way you think, I would've PM'd but I'd like input from the rest of the community as well. I'm not looking for a plan, or blue print, rather I want ideas as to how to accomplish my goal. I am a skilled machinist, although I don't currently have access to machine tools. The plan is to find a decent piece of CI, that is flat, a low RPM high torque motor, and the assorted pulleys, pillow block bearings and shafts to make it all run... oh yeah, I'm going to need water or coolant as well. I do have some HCS that I don't want to burn up.
I have an old treadle powered sewing machine frame, and considered using it in lieu of the electric motor, but leg problems would probably keep me from making frequent grinds.
I would really like your input, as well as other creekers.
Moderators, please move this to the appropriate forum, if needed.
I intend to record the build with pictures and text, possibly to help the younger generation realize that everything doesn't have to come out of a box, ready to "plug and play"
Any and all comments, criticisms, and dirty looks will be cheerfully accepted.
Mickey Cassiba

Paul Atkins
10-23-2009, 10:41 PM