PDA

View Full Version : Need help with a sign quote...

Joseph Tovar
10-22-2009, 4:47 AM
Hi All,

For the last year or so I've been doing a few small side projects, mostly onsie, twosie jobs, but I had someone approach me and ask for a quote for some basic engraved signs. This was a large order(at least for me) so I need a little help quoting this job. I always see the price go down as the quantity goes up, but how do you know how low the floor is no matter what the quantity is? Also, I've seen people use different methods of quoting jobs...time...material...per sq inch, etc. Since this isn't my full time job and it's something I do on the side, I'm not very good at this portion of the business. Any suggestions?

This will be using some standard Rowmark laserable plastic, probably 1/8" thick. The job is for the following items:

Qty: ~60 - 6"x9" (Single line, text only)
Qty: ~30 - 7"x10" (Single line, text only)
Qty: ~550 - 2"x10" (Single line, text only)

What are some of the typical things you might do to get the job(besides the pricing)...Waive the fee for the design or setup? Give a few samples?

Anyways, any help would be appreciated since I'm not used to these types of quantities. If I charged the normal 1 piece rate, they'de probably walk away in a heartbeat. Are there any spreadsheets, software, etc used for creating estimates or quotes that someone can recommend?

Thanks in advance!

Joe Pelonio
10-22-2009, 8:03 AM
I normally charge my hourly rate for time spent and double the material cost. On something like a simple 1"x3" name badge that might come out to $2 so I also have a minimum for small orders as it's not worth the time to do anything for $2.

For larger orders I'll give a discount on the time, a percentage off that increases for certain levels of quantity such as 50, 100, 250 and 500.

You would have to decide what percentages make sense for you based on