PDA

View Full Version : Magswitch featherboard - safety questions

scott vroom
10-20-2009, 1:20 AM
I'm new to woodworking and this the first featherboard I have used. I was surprised at how easy it was to pull the board backwards with the Magswitch featherboards pressing down (very tightly) on side and top of the board. I can't imagine this product preventing a kickback. Am I misunderstanding the purpose of the featherboard? Is it's main function to hold stock firmly to the table and fence for accuragte cuts? Is it supposed to prevent kickbacks? I could use some good advice, maybe even a short tutorial on table saw safety and the latest hot products to prevent injury and kickback. I'm open to any and all opinions/recommendations.

Thanks-

Jeff Sudmeier
10-20-2009, 6:55 AM
In my opinion featherboards prevent kickbacks, but not by stopping them.

What I mean is that they keep the board pressed against the fence and the table and not binding against the blade so the board doesn't "want" to kick back.

Once a board wants to kickback I haven't used a feather board that will stop the board once it has started to kickback...

Make sense?

John Coloccia
10-20-2009, 7:06 AM
I'm new to woodworking and this the first featherboard I have used. I was surprised at how easy it was to pull the board backwards with the Magswitch featherboards pressing down (very tightly) on side and top of the board. I can't imagine this product preventing a kickback. Am I misunderstanding the purpose of the featherboard? Is it's main function to hold stock firmly to the table and fence for accuragte cuts? Is it supposed to prevent kickbacks? I could use some good advice, maybe even a short tutorial on table saw safety and the latest hot products to prevent injury and kickback. I'm open to any and all opinions/recommendations.

Thanks-