PDA

View Full Version : My First Carving

Todd Willhoit
10-18-2009, 10:42 PM
Hi all,
Pictured below is my first attempt at carving. I needed something for my in-law's anniversary and remembered an old article in FWW about letter carving. I thought a plaque would make a nice gift. I used some 4" x 22" reclaimed mahogany that I had on hand and finished it with three coats of Minwax tung oil. Considering my lack of experience, I think it turned out pretty good. It definitely has more character than the stamped "wood" wall plaques that can be found in so many stores.

I bought a Pfeil 14mm #7 chisel to help with the curves, but I wound up using an old 3/8" and 1/4" bevel chisel for most of the work. The edges were chamfered with a router.

Mike Henderson recommended Honduran as opposed to African mahogany for carving. I am not a mahogany expert. Can anyone tell me which type this is?

Todd

Doug Mason
10-19-2009, 1:11 PM
Hey--that's pretty neat! It seems as though lettering would be difficlut--but perhaps it is just time-consuming. Not sure about the wood.

Todd Willhoit
10-19-2009, 9:09 PM
Doug,
Thanks for the compliment. I haven't done any other carving with which to compare the level of difficulty, however I did find it difficult to get nice edges on the curved parts, especially with the small letters. Another chisel shape may have been helpful. In any case, I like the result and I learned a few things.

Ed Nelson978
10-19-2009, 9:37 PM
Great job on the lettering! I used bench chisels for the majority of my attempt at lettering too. They obviously work!

The African Mahogany is more prone to splinter. Doesn't look like that was much of a problem for you!

Todd Willhoit
07-10-2011, 8:36 PM