PDA

View Full Version : Walnut Kitchen Table

Andrew Jones
10-16-2009, 12:34 PM
Hello All. I am a woodworking novice, and am interested in your opinions.

I have built a table top out of reclaimed walnut. It used to be a beam in a barn, and therefore never treated or finished. After milling, it was kiln dried to kill any critters, and cut into boards. I obtained them rough cut and jointed and glued them together. I have planed and sanded (to 150 grit) the top side, but left the bottom untouched. The bottom is pretty rough, saw marks, gouges, etc.

Ultimately my goal is to create "farm table" look. Rustic and antiqued. However usable and durible for everyday use. After looking through this site, it seems as if the finishing advice is more geared towards high gloss more traditional finishing.

Can you please recommend where I go next with this project? I want to keep the gloss down, but protect the wood as best as possible.

Secondly, what should I do with the bottom? Can I leave it unfinished (this I would prefer) or would I be risking damage to the top? Can I coat the rough side with varnish to protect it?

Any help is greaty appreciated.

Jamie Buxton
10-16-2009, 12:55 PM
You can leave the underside unfinished. The finish on the top side is water resistant, but not 100% water proof for exposures measured in months. That is, the wood is going to expand and contract over an annual cycle, unaffected by the finish on the top face or the un-finish on the bottom face.