PDA

View Full Version : 3 day Jewelry Box

Joe Shinall
10-15-2009, 10:52 PM
Hey guys, first post. First jewelry box I have ever done. Got the idea for a best friend's 2 year old daughter's birthday. The wife forgot to get her something so I jumped on it and put my new UniSaw to the test.

Made from basic Red Oak. I decided to try some things I have never done before (which is a lot). So I 45'd the outside corners and Rabbeted the corners for the inside sliding box. And dado for the bottom tray on each. Since then I have done so much more. Hope ya like it.

David Christopher
10-15-2009, 11:08 PM
1. Joe, welcome to the creek
2. thats a beatiful box
3. how do you like that new uni

Joe Shinall
10-15-2009, 11:14 PM
1. Joe, welcome to the creek
2. thats a beatiful box
3. how do you like that new uni

Thanks very much. Considering that I was just using a $150 Craftsman that tipped over when I tried to run a 12 inch board through it, it's AWESOME!!!

No, really, besides that, this is the greatest piece of machinery I have ever bought. It is even better than my pickup that I had to use to get it home. It was my first big tool purchase and it has since sparked a frenzy of better equipment. I just need a Biesemeyer fence for it. Unifence is ok, but not the greatest for jigs as it is oblong in shape.

David Christopher
10-15-2009, 11:48 PM
Joe, glad to here that you like your uni, I have a 1958 uni and really like it but the brand new one is starting to call my name ( Dave...Dave...Dave...Dave ) LOL

Joe Shinall
10-15-2009, 11:54 PM
Haha! I hear ya. Mine isn't the brand new one. It's an 08 model. Had it since July. Was saving up for the brand new one but couldn't pass up the deal I got on this one.

I think, right now, there's a lot of tools calling my name!

Brian Kent
10-16-2009, 1:00 AM
Welcome, Joe.

I like the gift box - all the better for a friend's little one.