PDA

View Full Version : When is it worth it to have a saw reground?

Adam Woznicki
10-15-2009, 9:08 PM
I'm new to hand saws, in fact the only ones I have are hack saws.

A few weeks ago I passed on a couple of Keystone back saws at the flea market. Mainly because about a third of the teeth were smashed flat. Looked like someone was banging on the edge with a hammer.

When is it worth it to have a saw reground, and how much does it cost?

I'd be happy to learn how to sharpen a heavily worn blade, but filing it down and starting from nothing is beyond my level of patience.

Is a Keystone worth it, or maybe only a good Disston?

Brian Kent
10-15-2009, 11:30 PM
Apparently Keystone Saw Works was owned by Thomas Disston:

http://www.disstonianinstitute.com/key1935.html

I am looking for a website that had a re-grinding service at a reasonable cost. Although I have sharpened a couple of saws, I was thinking of sending them a cross cut saw and and having it re-ground as a rip cut. I'll post it if I find it again.

Brian

I just found it:

http://www.medalliontools.com/HandsawSharpeningService.html

James Davis
10-15-2009, 11:50 PM
This guy comes highly recomended, and his prices are right.

http://nelsonwoodworks.biz/pb/wp_bfda54f2/wp_bfda54f2.html

James

Jim Koepke
10-16-2009, 1:37 AM
Just recently put new teeth on a saw. It was jointed down to smooth metal. The norsewoodsmith.com has guides to aid in the filing of new teeth. Do an on site search for > backsaw <.
Putting new teeth on a saw is not as hard as it may seem.

There is a .pdf to download that has all the information. Not sure if the links to files with the lines to lay out the teeth are also in the downloadable file, but there are links on the site.

jim

Matt Ranum
10-16-2009, 9:29 AM
I would think too that you could just joint the blade and cut new teeth by hand. But, if you don't want to tackle that, you could look at this guy too.