PDA

View Full Version : New Stuff

George Beck
10-15-2009, 4:13 PM
Here is my wacky idea: I am for the most part a retired woodworker. I make hand planes, tea cabinets, boxes, etc. I have been doing some laser stuff for about 8 months now. Some of you may remember my lasered planes. In my continuing venture into combining traditional woodworking and laser technology I am starting a little business with some inspirational plaques that I hope will sell as inexpensive gift items. Initial responses from people have been very favorable. My goals here are:
1) A use for small scrape pieces of wood
2) Generate a little money to fund the shop and web site(under construction)
3) Promote "green" and economical use of precious timber
4) Make things that make people happy
I put some of my stuff on a little gallery here http://gallery.me.com/george.v.beck
This is the scary part! I am new to laser stuff and no where near as experienced as most of you here on the creek. However, with much trepidation, let me know what you think. Thank you for looking.

George

Todd Suire
10-15-2009, 4:28 PM
George,

Nice work. I'm pretty new to this myself and, with the Christmas season approaching, I've been thinking about doing much the same thing.

I think your work looks nice, and I'm sure others will agree. And, I'm sure there are a few "experts" here on the board who will provide advice to help us all take it to the next level.

Good Luck with your work.

Dee Gallo
10-15-2009, 4:35 PM
George,

Your plaques look great! I wish you a lot of luck with your new adventure, it's an excellent starting point. Beautiful pieces of "scrap" too!

cheers, dee

ps - I didn't see dimensions or prices.

Margaret Turco
10-15-2009, 6:25 PM
The plaques look great, nothing wacky about that! Thanks for sharing.

George M. Perzel
10-15-2009, 7:10 PM
Hi George;
Great stuff-especially love the plane.
The next step may be inlaying some of those small pieces of wood into the planes-really quite easy with a laser.