PDA

View Full Version : Really quick projects Critique requested

Brian Brown
10-15-2009, 12:56 AM
So with the small amount of time I have spent at the lathe this summer, I needed some quick projects that I could do in a short session. I started playing with pendants just about the same time others here started doing them. Here are a few of the pendants I have tried.

The pendants in the picture with 4, are all turned endgrain. This was a real challenge for me. As you can see, the marblewood has a terrible tear out, and will be trash can fodder. Gotta have really sharp tools and a light touch for endgrain, but I like the look. I am playing with different methods of attaching the string. SWMBO laid claim to the Desert Ironwood Burl the second it was done.

Most of these haven't been finished yet, as I will do them all at once. What kind of finishe(s) do all of you use that do not change the color of the wood. I want the holly to retain its color. Also what is the procedure to use sanding sealer to keep dark sanding dust from polluting light woods like holly?

Comments and critique are always welcome. I also want to know which woods, and which styles are your favorites.

Brian Kent
10-15-2009, 1:19 AM
Brian,

Very artistic.

I don't know what to recommend for the finish.

Brian

Paul Ray Moore
10-15-2009, 9:33 AM
A guy at our club turned these about a month ago. I wanted to turn some for my daughter and some of her friends but I forgot exactly how to do this. The guy at the club took a 2" x 4" piece of wood and put it in his chuck with two of the jaws removed. He then placed the piece he was turning in the center of the 2x4 using double stick tape. There was an off set mark I think it was 5/8" off center on the 2x4. Once he turned it round and shaped it, he then moved the block where the off set mark was at the center and turned the hole for the string.
Is this close the process you used?

Richard Madison
10-15-2009, 9:46 AM