PDA

View Full Version : New to Laser cutting need advise!

Marina Georgiou
10-13-2009, 7:10 PM
Hello everyone!!
This is a wonderful place that has allowed me to find out alot of information on laser cut machines!!

I am a handmade jewelry designer and is very seriously thinking of getting an Epilog machine to help me more in my line of work, but I wanted to ask as i have practically no experience in the field on laser cutting technology.
I understand the very first is learning Corel Draw.. Please do correct me if i am wrong..

i am very computer literate but Coral was never needed for my designs, so I never bothered learning.
My main question is, that If you know Corel or some other Graphics Program is it easy to work on a laser cut machine.. or do you think it will be a very hard task for someone to accomplish like me being a total complete novice in the field.

thank you!

Dee Gallo
10-13-2009, 7:24 PM
Hi Marina,

Welcome to the Creek! By "very computer literate" do you mean you know how to use another graphics program? To prepare work for the laser, you would do best knowing both a paint program and a draw program. The most commonly used (and recommended for Epilog because it's very compatible) is CorelDraw. It's not hard to use once you learn the basics. There is a bitmap/paint aspect, but it is much better to use something more substantial like PhotoShop for best results on photos especially.

If you read through the posts, you will see that people use all kinds of programs, from freebies to high-priced. The program you are used to might work, you would do yourself a favor to mention it here or call Epilog and ask if the files it makes will work.

Good luck and keep posting!

cheers, dee

Margaret Turco
10-13-2009, 7:27 PM