PDA

View Full Version : Good deal or not

Chad Young
09-22-2004, 1:54 PM
A co-worker is selling a Dremel 1680 Scroll Saw with stand for $50. It is about a year old has has only been used for about 3 hours. I have no experience with any scroll saws but have wanted to learn. I looked around and saw them for $169 new on Amazon.

Chris Padilla
09-22-2004, 2:02 PM
Depreciation of like 70% in just 1 year...jump on it. Sounds like a great find and perhaps a good way to get your feet wet and if you don't like it or it breaks, you aren't out a lot of green. I would think you could get $50 for it in 1 more year.

Look on eBay and see what they are going for...might give you a rough idea what it is really worth.

Hank Walczak
09-22-2004, 8:10 PM
Chad - I've had this one for about a year. Four things I've learned about this saw. Light isn't bright enough. Difficult to clamp blades under the table. Not enough clearance to thread blade into stock from underneath, hold down is always in the way. Tension release at back of arm isn't the most convenient placement. You do both of the previous operations a lot on a project. I had trouble with tracking until I found out that table was not square to the blade; after correcting this, it was much better. Could even cut 8/4 without any issues. I also extended the blower assembly so that I could blow the dust to the back more easily. Some of these issues may be why the guy is selling cheap. But IMHO, you can't loose with what he's selling it for.

Gary Max
09-22-2004, 8:19 PM
Sounds like a great price--even if you have to tune it up.

Tony Falotico
09-22-2004, 8:53 PM
Bought a Dremel about 10 yrs ago, about the $130 price range, got it on sale for about $100. Terrible piece of equipment, vibrated like crazy, cut lousy, blade holders were inadequate ...........

I would walk away and hold out for a good Delta or preferably DeWalt.

Michael Ballent
09-22-2004, 10:36 PM
So what is your real opinion ;)

Betsy Yocum
09-22-2004, 10:55 PM