PDA

View Full Version : How to begin

Prashun Patel
10-12-2009, 4:16 PM
I'm ready to dip my toe into the world of lathes. There are 2 things I want to do initially:

-Turn fallen lumber into bowls/vases, etc.
-Make table and bench legs

Any recomendations on a good, basic machine? Which tools do I need to get started? I'm fearful that I'll quickly slide down a slope of owning a hundred different gouges of various lengths, skew angles, and colors...

What to avoid?

I'm a hobbyist (at best)

alex carey
10-12-2009, 4:43 PM
can you give us a price range?

Bill Bulloch
10-12-2009, 4:50 PM
I'm fearful that I'll quickly slide down a slope of owning a hundred different gouges of various lengths, skew angles, and colors...

No need fearing it -- you will. Then, you'll end up with four or five favorites that get used all the time, the rest every-now-and-then.

You can get a lathe for a few hundred bucks up to 7 or 8 thousand that will do the job you are wanting to do. Like everything else though, the better the machine the higher the cost. I suggest you decide on what you can budget for this hobby, then do your research. After you narrow down what you like and can afford, then ask the membership about these specific lathes. These guys know their lathes and will be able to help. I would also suggest that you buy as much lathe as you can afford at this time. If you buy a Harbor Frieght $150.00 lathe now, within the year you'll be looking for something better.

Good luck

Kirk Miller
10-12-2009, 5:17 PM
I strongly suggest the Jet 12-20. It is a great value if you can afford it. For chisels I think the Harbor Freight HSS set is good for getting started. It is affordable and you dont have to worry about messing them up sharpening. You can then get a better idea of what kind of tool you want. A good 1/2 inch bowl gouge before you get started on bowls and vases. That set doesn't have a true bowl gouge.