PDA

View Full Version : last new lathe question (for a while...)

Mike Minto
10-09-2009, 9:47 AM
Does it do any harm to an inverter/variable speed lathe to unplug it rather than turn it off every time you leave the shop - or is it just more inconvenient? Jim, I'm a woodworker, not an electrician (star trek reference:p). What do you all do? AND - do you all take tension off of the drive belt, or leave it under tension when not using the lathe? I always raised the motor on my 1624 when I was through using it - advise? Mike

Bernie Weishapl
10-09-2009, 9:58 AM
Mike I have the DVR and I shut it down then unplug it every time I leave the shop. Just a habit I got into even though I have surge suppressor on it.

Steve Schlumpf
10-09-2009, 10:05 AM
Mike - I turn the speed down to zero and always unplug the lathe. It is not uncommon to get lightening strikes here and the only way to make sure it doesn't get hit is to unplug it.

Robert Parrish
10-09-2009, 10:16 AM
Mike, you can put a switch between your lathe and the power source if you don't want to unplug it. I use a foot switch.

Mike Minto
10-09-2009, 10:27 AM
that's what i do with my big TV's during storms - think i'll keep unplugging the lathe since no one here thinks it does any harm. thanks, mike

Ken Fitzgerald
10-09-2009, 10:53 AM
Mike,

With my PM3520B, I shut it off and then unplug it.

For a fact...I've been there.....done that.....was forced to buy and wear the t-shirt.......lightning will jump across the contacts on a switch......it will melt copper pins as big as my middle finger and I have large hands....lightning will not stop at a common switch, circuit breaker etc. .....it might stop at a circuit breaker or switch if you are lucky but......unplugging it will remove any doubt or chance.